Lectures: 2,018 | Views: 49,626,878 | Subscribers: 380,859 | Subscribe
Solid-Phase Synthesis of Proteins
The solid-phase method is a technique that is used in laboratory setting to synthesize proteins. This method has two underlining aspects. Firstly, in order to promote reaction specificity and decrease the amount of unwanted products, we need direct protein synthesis by using activating dicyclohexylcarbodiimide (DCC) agent and blocking tert-butyloxycarbonyl (t-Boc) agent. By attaching the t-Boc group onto the nitrogen of the amino group, we block the nitrogen's chemical reactivity. On the other hand, by adding the DCC group onto the carbon of the carboxyl group of the amino acid, we are increasing that carbons reactivity. The other important point of this method is that we need to attach the first amino acid (from the terminal carboxyl end) onto a solid surface. This will anchor the growing polypeptide chain in place and will keep it from washing away.
[{"id":"rgpN2OXg7mI","title":"Enzyme Assay, Enzyme Activity and Specific Activity","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/enzyme-assay-enzyme-activity-and-specific-activity"},{"id":"ukHA2tnc8mQ","title":"Cell Fractionation","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/cell-fractionation"},{"id":"oxiB3UoRc0E","title":"Centrifugation and Sedimentation Coefficient","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/centrifugation-and-sedimentation-coefficient"},{"id":"EIl9kbeOLeA","title":"Derivation of Sedimentation Coefficient Equation","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/derivation-of-sedimentation-coefficient-equation"},{"id":"TIMGH2z1eh4","title":"Salting out","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/salting-out"},{"id":"P4vxEs7YDXY","title":"Dialysis","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/dialysis"},{"id":"6t1BeXk1Gvc","title":"Gel Filtration Chromatography","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/gel-filtration-chromatography"},{"id":"jOf_zHw2Hd4","title":"Ion Exchange Chromatography","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/ion-exchange-chromatography"},{"id":"4lWxWjQB5mo","title":"Affinity Chromatography","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/affinity-chromatography"},{"id":"x62WZGd3VCM","title":"Isoelectric Focusing and Isoelectric Point","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/isoelectric-focusing-and-isoelectric-point"},{"id":"Flu1EDgyJxs","title":"Isoelectric Focusing and Isoelectric Point (Part II)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/isoelectric-focusing-and-isoelectric-point-part-ii"},{"id":"c2kK4My2Jzc","title":"Calculating Isoelectric Point of Proteins","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/calculating-isoelectric-point-of-proteins"},{"id":"g0TZncwkJxU","title":"Calculating Net Charge on Proteins","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/calculating-net-charge-on-proteins"},{"id":"tM0VNhjiFSU","title":"SDS Polyacrylamide Gel Electrophoresis","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/sds-polyacrylamide-gel-electrophoresis"},{"id":"9ly9bVbS8IU","title":"SDS Polyacrylamide Gel Electrophoresis (Part II)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/sds-polyacrylamide-gel-electrophoresis-part-ii"},{"id":"mXkIWIE0H-0","title":"Two Dimensional Gel Electrophoresis","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/two-dimensional-gel-electrophoresis"},{"id":"7h0XrF1BleM","title":"Analysis of Protein Purification","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/analysis-of-protein-purification"},{"id":"95PAEel-Fy8","title":"Analysis of Protein Purification (Part II)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/analysis-of-protein-purification-part-ii"},{"id":"5bBeXvo7ScA","title":"Amino Acid Composition in Proteins","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/amino-acid-composition-in-proteins"},{"id":"VxaGNLCIETA","title":"Sequencing Amino Acids and Edman Degradation","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/sequencing-amino-acids-and-edman-degradation"},{"id":"--rkLKzHi5s","title":"Sequencing Amino Acids by Proteolytic Cleavage","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/sequencing-amino-acids-by-proteolytic-cleavage"},{"id":"X1LeQ3pcNow","title":"Protein Sequencing Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/protein-sequencing-example"},{"id":"tAZu557bMQw","title":"Diagonal Electrophoresis","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/diagonal-electrophoresis"},{"id":"13u9zjqU1Sw","title":"Polyclonal Antibodies","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/polyclonal-antibodies"},{"id":"kVs4VQQroOg","title":"Monoclonal Antibodies","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/monoclonal-antibodies"},{"id":"MzrJ35aQPMo","title":"Indirect and Sandwich ELISA","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/indirect-and-sandwich-elisa"},{"id":"8F_SFymyMCw","title":"Western Blotting","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/western-blotting"},{"id":"ISjHVbG5CTE","title":"Solid-Phase Synthesis of Proteins","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/solid-phase-synthesis-of-proteins"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists