Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 38,199,216 | Subscribers: 287,239 | Subscribe
Radiation Therapy and Proton Therapy
Although radiation can produce detrimental effects and even cause cancer in humans and animals, it can also be used to treat it. Tumors are concentrated regions of cancer cells that undergo uncontrolled cell growth and can spread to all the different parts of the body. Cancer cells, just like any other type of cell, are susceptible to radiation, which can readily destroy the cancer cells. The process of treating cancer cells with radiation is known as radiation therapy. The downside of using radiation to destroy tumors is that the surrounding normal cells and tissue can be damaged as well, leading to many visible side effects, such as radiation sickness and hair loss. Two common therapies include x-ray or gamma ray therapy and proton therapy. Radiation can also be used to sterilize surgical equipment or kill off harmful bacteria and viruses that live on food products.
[{"id":"hPBfuQA9578","title":"Radiation Damage to Matter and Biological Cells","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/radiation-damage-to-matter-and-biological-cells"},{"id":"XOrPH3Wlzek","title":"Radiation Therapy and Proton Therapy","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/radiation-therapy-and-proton-therapy"},{"id":"08eAe_C1mZ4","title":"Dosimetry and Measuring Radiation","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/dosimetry-and-measuring-radiation"},{"id":"tsdrCcFY7lE","title":"Absorbed Radiation Dose of Tumor Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/absorbed-radiation-dose-of-tumor-example"},{"id":"dHIveaLcvR8","title":"Source Activity and Radiation Absorption Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/source-activity-and-radiation-absorption-example"},{"id":"vJ6Y9_a9lsg","title":"Placing Radioactive Isotope in Tumor Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/placing-radioactive-isotope-in-tumor-example"},{"id":"1lOVoESmQvM","title":"Effective Radiation Dose of Physician Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/effective-radiation-dose-of-physician-example"},{"id":"8_yV_1iNsMw","title":"X-Ray Imaging","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/x-ray-imaging"},{"id":"pIQD8jdmaVM","title":"X-Ray CT Scans","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/x-ray-ct-scans"},{"id":"Z2jJSy52u84","title":"Radioactive Tracers and Emission Tomography","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/radioactive-tracers-and-emission-tomography"},{"id":"UNgEL7Q52sI","title":"Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/nuclear-magnetic-resonance-nmr"},{"id":"E9VKQen7SkM","title":"Resonance Frequency in NMR","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/resonance-frequency-in-nmr"},{"id":"rJ9gV4yFMi8","title":"Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/magnetic-resonance-imaging-mri"},{"id":"XmrBsuLcEGk","title":"Magnetic Field Inside NMR Spectrometer","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/magnetic-field-inside-nmr-spectrometer"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists