Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 34,402,055 | Subscribers: 261,152 | Subscribe
Prokaryotic vs Eukaryotic Flagella
Flagella is a structure that exists on both eukaryotic and prokaryotic cells and serves the purpose of moving the cell through the fluid environment in which that cell is found in. However, the structure, composition and even the mechanism by which the flagellum functions in these two different cells differs greatly. In prokaryotic organisms, the flagella is made of a globular protein called flagellin that creates a rigin, hollow cylinder and uses the movement of hydrogen ions across the membrane down their electrochemical gradient to move the flagellin in a counterclockwise/clockwise fashion. Eukaryotic cells however have flagella that is made of protein filament called microtubules and it uses ATP to creating a bending-like motion that propels the cells forward.
[{"id":"QV3mOU84QNc","title":"Cell Nucleus","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/cell-nucleus"},{"id":"5ArOofhOAwI","title":"Cell Membrane and Fluid Mosaic Model","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/cell-membrane-and-fluid-mosaic-model"},{"id":"M66B7D5WwXk","title":"Electrochemical Gradient","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electrochemical-gradient"},{"id":"hpECyJbtQ38","title":"Cell Membrane Transport","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/cell-membrane-transport"},{"id":"9tOGgB_mJPg","title":"Pinocytosis, Phagocytosis and Receptor-Mediated Endocytosis","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/pinocytosis-phagocytosis-and-receptor-mediated-endocytosis"},{"id":"kHLspuHXvK8","title":"Microfilaments, Intermediate Filaments and Microtubules","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/microfilaments-intermediate-filaments-and-microtubules"},{"id":"TE_n2p6dpUo","title":"Centrosome and Centrioles","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/centrosome-and-centrioles"},{"id":"3vBnZKRmikU","title":"Endoplasmic Reticulum and Golgi Apparatus","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/endoplasmic-reticulum-and-golgi-apparatus"},{"id":"rPKywyTvua4","title":"Mitochondria","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/mitochondria"},{"id":"wyl9AHk_SWU","title":"Vacuoles, Lysosomes and Microbodies","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/vacuoles-lysosomes-and-microbodies"},{"id":"wGQabqD3HlI","title":"Tight Junctions, Gap Junctions and Desmosomes","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/tight-junctions-gap-junctions-and-desmosomes"},{"id":"Eev9Ui_8YPI","title":"Tissue Types and Extracellular Matrix","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/tissue-types-and-extracellular-matrix"},{"id":"8porJA2wrFU","title":"Prokaryotic vs Eukaryotic Flagella","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/prokaryotic-vs-eukaryotic-flagella"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists