Lectures: 2,003 | Views: 15,975,459 | Subscribers: 126,362 | Subscribe
Osmosis, Osmotic Pressure and Hydrostatic Pressure
Water always moves from a high osmotic potential to a low osmotic potential, in a similar way that a mass will move from a high gravitational potential to a low gravitational potential. We arbitrarily choose pure water to have an osmotic potential of zero. Anytime we add some type of solute into the pure water, we are decreasing its osmotic potential by making it more negative. Therefore, if we separate these two solutions by a semi-permeable membrane that only allows water to pass through, then water will naturally move from the high osmotic potential (pure water side) to the low osmotic potential (the water with the solute dissolved in it). Said another way, water tends to move from a low solute concentration (hypotonic environment) to a high solute concentration (hypertonic environment). This natural movement of water is called osmosis. Now if we put some sort of physical impermeable barrier between the two sides, such as our hand for instance, we will prevent the movement. This pressure that we must apply to prevent the process of osmosis from taking place (natural flow of water from low to high solute concentration) is called the osmotic pressure. On the other hand, hydrostatic pressure is the pressure that is created by the fluid on the walls of the conduit through which the fluid is moving.
[{"id":"wiy23SyIK-g","title":"Introduction to Cardiovascular System","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-cardiovascular-system"},{"id":"c2B6C-W_tIg","title":"Composition of Blood","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/composition-of-blood"},{"id":"-zjUZjkNLsI","title":"Types of Blood Vessels","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/types-of-blood-vessels"},{"id":"PTYwFQq4loI","title":"Blood Pressure in Arteries, Veins and Capillaries","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/blood-pressure-in-arteries-veins-and-capillaries"},{"id":"uhYnKRH8Gho","title":"Compliance of Blood Vessels","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/compliance-of-blood-vessels"},{"id":"-QclTMSvm3U","title":"Resistance of Blood Vessels and Volume Flow Rate","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/resistance-of-blood-vessels-and-volume-flow-rate"},{"id":"KwbqTHEnJw0","title":"Structure of the Heart","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/structure-of-the-heart"},{"id":"vWUvsX1OvbQ","title":"Blood Flow in the Heart","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/blood-flow-in-the-heart"},{"id":"4o2nHfVMfC8","title":"Electrical Conduction in the Heart","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electrical-conduction-in-the-heart"},{"id":"O04d0hZ1ofo","title":"Introduction to Electrocardiogram","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-electrocardiogram"},{"id":"XqCi3dk18pI","title":"Major Arteries of Circulation System","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/major-arteries-of-circulation-system"},{"id":"2ukQlpNA6-s","title":"Osmosis, Osmotic Pressure and Hydrostatic Pressure","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/osmosis-osmotic-pressure-and-hydrostatic-pressure"},{"id":"bmQDAM-q2OM","title":"Exchange Across Capillaries","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/exchange-across-capillaries"},{"id":"DjmWmbzUogM","title":"Recycling of Red Blood Cells","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/recycling-of-red-blood-cells"},{"id":"SPSvc7-1dec","title":"Blood Clotting Cascade","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/blood-clotting-cascade"},{"id":"VJm1kaVQI9E","title":"Blood Clotting Cascade (Part II)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/blood-clotting-cascade-part-ii"},{"id":"zGlW29VuSkA","title":"Amplification of Blood Clotting","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/amplification-of-blood-clotting"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists