Lectures: 2,009 | Views: 38,199,216 | Subscribers: 287,239 | Subscribe
Nucleosides and Nucleotides
A unit that consists of a sugar molecule attached covalently to a nitrogenous base is called a nucleoside. The bond holding these two structures is called a beta glycosidic linkage. In RNA molecules, the four nucleosides are adenosine, guanosine, cytidine and uridine. In DNA molecules, the four nucleosides are deoxyadenosine, deoxyguanosine, deoxycytidine and thymidine. When a nucleoside has one or more phosphate groups attached to the sugar, this is known as a nucleotide. One example of a nucleotide is adenosine 5'-triphosphate (ATP). This is the biological molecule that is most commonly used to store energy needed for cellular reactions. Notice that when naming nucleotides, we want to start off by naming the nucleoside, followed by the type of linkage between the sugar and phosphate(s), followed by the number of phosphate groups. The most common linkage between the phosphate and sugar in biological nucleotides is at the 5' carbon on the sugar.
[{"id":"1Wc4jTH2v_w","title":"Introduction to Nucleic Acids","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-nucleic-acids"},{"id":"Ux1tAy1Jb_I","title":"Composition of Nucleic Acids","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/composition-of-nucleic-acids"},{"id":"GgQrEJaEH0U","title":"Nucleosides and Nucleotides","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/nucleosides-and-nucleotides"},{"id":"VLD9VLxN3PI","title":"Watson-Crick Model of DNA","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/watson-crick-model-of-dna"},{"id":"_GN4F-PaAWA","title":"Meselson and Stahl Experiment","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/meselson-and-stahl-experiment"},{"id":"OblPqlOOgew","title":"Melting and Annealing of DNA","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/melting-and-annealing-of-dna"},{"id":"g_pwHZZ0oSo","title":"Stem-Loop Structure of RNA","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/stem-loop-structure-of-rna"},{"id":"wvaBZSQzGVY","title":"DNA Polymerase and Catalysis of Phosphodiester Bond","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/dna-polymerase-and-catalysis-of-phosphodiester-bond"},{"id":"TEfHW21ZIoc","title":"Circular DNA, RNA Genes and Viruses","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/circular-dna-rna-genes-and-viruses"},{"id":"ruIIccU32nU","title":"Types of RNA","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/types-of-rna"},{"id":"1bAhZayllHc","title":"RNA Polymerase","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/rna-polymerase"},{"id":"a9ZMTVlrLY0","title":"Promoter and Termination Sites","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/promoter-and-termination-sites"},{"id":"0t5eVgtrdWg","title":"Central Dogma and Genetic Code","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/central-dogma-and-genetic-code"},{"id":"HxOGxj2jEfA","title":"Start and Stop Codons","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/start-and-stop-codons"},{"id":"B8gnuhvnfUs","title":"Exons and Introns of Eukaryotic mRNA","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/exons-and-introns-of-eukaryotic-mrna"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists