Lectures: 2,009 | Views: 38,199,216 | Subscribers: 287,239 | Subscribe
Neuroglia (Glial Cells)
Aside from neurons, the nervous system also consists of support cells called neuroglia or glial cells. These cells are responsible for supporting neurons' activity and improving their functionality in various important ways. The central and peripheral nervous systems, the two divisions of the nervous system, consist of their own types of neuroglia. The central nervous system contain astrocytes (cells that bring nutrients from the blood, establish the proper ion concentration outside the neuron and support the neuron physically), ependymal cells (cells that line the spinal cord and parts of the brain and are involved in cerebrofluid production and movement), oligodendrocytes (synthesize the myelin sheath around cells) and microglia (engulf harmful debris around the neurons). The peripheral nervous system consists of satellite cells (provide physical support and create a protective layer around the cell and also give the cell the nutrients they need) and Schwann cells (synthesize myelin around the axon of the neuron).
[{"id":"-_uIDESvr6Y","title":"Neuron Structure and Function","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/neuron-structure-and-function"},{"id":"M0JWkOnnOVw","title":"Resting Membrane Potential of Neuron","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/resting-membrane-potential-of-neuron"},{"id":"N8lFrHo0FkM","title":"Initiation of Action Potential","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/initiation-of-action-potential"},{"id":"KWIWemjaHJA","title":"Propagation of Action Potential","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/propagation-of-action-potential"},{"id":"X4hl5hKDmHw","title":"Myelination and Saltatory Conduction","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/myelination-and-saltatory-conduction"},{"id":"rxhqKXvkYXU","title":"Synaptic Terminal (Neuromuscular Junction)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/synaptic-terminal-neuromuscular-junction"},{"id":"jpimow0N0BU","title":"Secondary Messenger Systems","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/secondary-messenger-systems"},{"id":"n7YCZZ_wg2U","title":"Neuroglia (Glial Cells)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/neuroglia-glial-cells"},{"id":"IEGphXyKJgI","title":"Introduction to Nervous System","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-nervous-system"},{"id":"m8V9fldkDv8","title":"Central Nervous System","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/central-nervous-system"},{"id":"pbzbVM5W-Ak","title":"Somatic Nervous System","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/somatic-nervous-system"},{"id":"-rGZfOoZgzI","title":"Autonomic Nervous System (Sympathetic and Parasympathetic)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/autonomic-nervous-system-sympathetic-and-parasympathetic"},{"id":"1PGIXXuFu14","title":"Structure of the Human Eye","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/structure-of-the-human-eye"},{"id":"3LyWqpknNFQ","title":"Structure of the Human Ear","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/structure-of-the-human-ear"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists