Lectures: 2,009 | Views: 38,199,216 | Subscribers: 287,239 | Subscribe
Modification of Amino Acids
Proteins have a wide range of functionality, partly due to the fact that they are composed of twenty different amino acids. Additionally, to diversity their functionality and increase their efficiency, proteins can be modified by modifying their amino acids. Some important modifications include adding carboxyl groups, hydroxyl groups, acetyl groups, carbohydrate groups and phosphoryl groups. Certain proteins are produced in their inactive form and require peptide cleavage by special enzymes. Some of these types of proteins include digestive enzymes and hormones.
[{"id":"ZfsuDfui0oU","title":"Introduction to Proteins","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-proteins"},{"id":"LHNNOIMt5x0","title":"Introduction to Amino Acids","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-amino-acids"},{"id":"cL2_e83v3js","title":"Nonpolar and Uncharged Polar Amino Acids","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/nonpolar-and-uncharged-polar-amino-acids"},{"id":"dF48PWHbA10","title":"Basic and Acidic Amino Acids","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/basic-and-acidic-amino-acids"},{"id":"eE4WgONS6-k","title":"Ionizable Amino Acids","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/ionizable-amino-acids"},{"id":"4_2fA_W7snM","title":"Peptide Bond Formation","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/peptide-bond-formation"},{"id":"KW8Uo8jsiGY","title":"Primary Structure of Proteins","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/primary-structure-of-proteins"},{"id":"qNWZCIoldWA","title":"Primary Structure of Proteins (Part II)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/primary-structure-of-proteins-part-ii"},{"id":"4YbwjjZWGPA","title":"Secondary Structure of Proteins","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/secondary-structure-of-proteins"},{"id":"p5Oi_yFfAhg","title":"Tertiary Structure of Proteins","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/tertiary-structure-of-proteins"},{"id":"-3uYmi7C2DI","title":"Quaternary Structure of Proteins","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/quaternary-structure-of-proteins"},{"id":"pZee0XCCqH4","title":"Anfinsen's Experiment of Protein Folding","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/anfinsens-experiment-of-protein-folding"},{"id":"Chs7ixRstQk","title":"Prions and Protein Misfolding","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/prions-and-protein-misfolding"},{"id":"9XK1Ekx5tYc","title":"Cooperativity of Protein Folding","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/cooperativity-of-protein-folding"},{"id":"gpnyMM44lXc","title":"Modification of Amino Acids","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/modification-of-amino-acids"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists