Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 26,216,002 | Subscribers: 198,748 | Subscribe
Major Histocompatibility Complex (MHC Class I and II)
The major histocompatibility complex, or simply MHC, is a complex of proteins found on the membrane of our cells. They have two very important functions. Firstly, they allow our immune cells of the body to recognize our healthy cells and distinguish them from infected cells and pathogens. The special name of this particular type of complex is the major histocompatibility complex class I (MHC class I). Secondly, they also function in helping our immune cells to actually interact and communicate with one another and this class of complexes is called the major histocompatibility complex class II (MHC class II). The major histocompatibility complex contains a cleft that can attach either its own proteins (self-antigens) or pathogenic proteins (antigens). When leukocytes approach these complexes, they will recognize their own healthy cells and attack the cells that contain the pathogenic antigens.
[{"id":"os1oh8AprYw","title":"Innate (Non-specific) Immune System","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/innate-non-specific-immune-system"},{"id":"X2-LZ6LeqxA","title":"Interferons","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/interferons"},{"id":"Kr9WsHUSnp4","title":"Adaptive Immune System","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/adaptive-immune-system"},{"id":"ER0hzqJnt_s","title":"Classical Pathway of Complement System","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/classical-pathway-of-complement-system"},{"id":"XW-qMHAUqUY","title":"Alternative Pathway of Complement System","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/alternative-pathway-of-complement-system"},{"id":"yDAGxVxY-L8","title":"Major Histocompatibility Complex (MHC Class I and II)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/major-histocompatibility-complex-mhc-class-i-and-ii"},{"id":"H3LXXq05eko","title":"Antibodies (Immunoglobulins)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/antibodies-immunoglobulins"},{"id":"Dvs1lN_uKXc","title":"Activation of Lymphocytes","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/activation-of-lymphocytes"},{"id":"TadJkUCJLHo","title":"Antigen-Presenting Cells (Macrophages, Dendritic Cells and B-Cells)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/antigen-presenting-cells-macrophages-dendritic-cells-and-b-cells"},{"id":"pZLDjmfaJ0Y","title":"Mechanism of B-Lymphocytes","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/mechanism-of-b-lymphocytes"},{"id":"QLtPj0o5wsI","title":"Alpha Beta T-cells","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/alpha-beta-t-cells"},{"id":"NCNi9oDdxbw","title":"Gamma Delta T-Cells","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/gamma-delta-t-cells"},{"id":"e2gT4nnETpc","title":"Primary vs. Secondary Immune Response","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/primary-vs-secondary-immune-response"},{"id":"3w9ylCxFAa0","title":"Immunization, Active Immunity and Passive Immunity","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/immunization-active-immunity-and-passive-immunity"},{"id":"0y1UOq7EIMg","title":"Grafting, Organ Transplants and Immunosuppression","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/grafting-organ-transplants-and-immunosuppression"},{"id":"LAFvwRkeUQ8","title":"ABO Blood Types","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/abo-blood-types"},{"id":"2iEg1ZPY0jU","title":"ABO Blood Types (Part II)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/abo-blood-types-part-ii"},{"id":"1dpw8yoggYY","title":"Rh Factor and Rh Incompatibility","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/rh-factor-and-rh-incompatibility"},{"id":"-bZ_1hiJPi8","title":"Autoimmunity","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/autoimmunity"},{"id":"3XszVyYWZJE","title":"Autoimmunity (Autoimmune Diease)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/autoimmunity-autoimmune-diease"},{"id":"e2TCjFPn2g8","title":"Innate and Adaptive Immune Systems","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/innate-and-adaptive-immune-systems"},{"id":"QqoezqZIA6c","title":"HIV, AIDS and Helper T-Cells","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/hiv-aids-and-helper-t-cells"},{"id":"iicHiSbEx8U","title":"Allergens and Allergic Reactions","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/allergens-and-allergic-reactions"},{"id":"oJnU20cwg8Q","title":"Immunosurveillance and Cancer Cells","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/immunosurveillance-and-cancer-cells"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists