Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 15,975,459 | Subscribers: 126,362 | Subscribe
Major Arteries of Circulation System
The left ventricle pumps blood into the ascending aorta, which branches in the beginning into smaller arteries called the left and right coronary artery. These two arteries supply oxygenated and nutrient-rich blood to the heart. The rest of the blood travels into the aortic arch, which contains three important branching arteries - the left subclavian artery, the left common carotid artery and the branchiocephalic artery (which then branches into the right common carotid artery and right subclavian artery. The rest of the aorta descends down into the thoracic and abdominal region of the body, which contains many branching points that ultimately deliver blood to the organs and tissues of that region. This portion is known as the descending aorta. At the bottom, around the pelvic region, the descending aorta bifurcates into the left and right common iliac artery. These bring the oxygenated and nutrient-filled blood to the legs.
[{"id":"wiy23SyIK-g","title":"Introduction to Cardiovascular System","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-cardiovascular-system"},{"id":"c2B6C-W_tIg","title":"Composition of Blood","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/composition-of-blood"},{"id":"-zjUZjkNLsI","title":"Types of Blood Vessels","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/types-of-blood-vessels"},{"id":"PTYwFQq4loI","title":"Blood Pressure in Arteries, Veins and Capillaries","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/blood-pressure-in-arteries-veins-and-capillaries"},{"id":"uhYnKRH8Gho","title":"Compliance of Blood Vessels","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/compliance-of-blood-vessels"},{"id":"-QclTMSvm3U","title":"Resistance of Blood Vessels and Volume Flow Rate","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/resistance-of-blood-vessels-and-volume-flow-rate"},{"id":"KwbqTHEnJw0","title":"Structure of the Heart","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/structure-of-the-heart"},{"id":"vWUvsX1OvbQ","title":"Blood Flow in the Heart","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/blood-flow-in-the-heart"},{"id":"4o2nHfVMfC8","title":"Electrical Conduction in the Heart","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electrical-conduction-in-the-heart"},{"id":"O04d0hZ1ofo","title":"Introduction to Electrocardiogram","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-electrocardiogram"},{"id":"XqCi3dk18pI","title":"Major Arteries of Circulation System","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/major-arteries-of-circulation-system"},{"id":"2ukQlpNA6-s","title":"Osmosis, Osmotic Pressure and Hydrostatic Pressure","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/osmosis-osmotic-pressure-and-hydrostatic-pressure"},{"id":"bmQDAM-q2OM","title":"Exchange Across Capillaries","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/exchange-across-capillaries"},{"id":"DjmWmbzUogM","title":"Recycling of Red Blood Cells","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/recycling-of-red-blood-cells"},{"id":"SPSvc7-1dec","title":"Blood Clotting Cascade","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/blood-clotting-cascade"},{"id":"VJm1kaVQI9E","title":"Blood Clotting Cascade (Part II)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/blood-clotting-cascade-part-ii"},{"id":"zGlW29VuSkA","title":"Amplification of Blood Clotting","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/amplification-of-blood-clotting"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists