Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 38,199,216 | Subscribers: 287,239 | Subscribe
Introduction to Oxidative Phosphorylation
The culmination of aerobic cellular respiration is oxidative phosphorylation that takes places on the electron transport chain. The electron transport chain is a series of specialized proteins found on the inner membrane of the mitochondria that is capable of passing down electrons onto the final electron acceptor, namely oxygen. The electron transport chain accepts electrons from NADH and FADH2 molecules produced in glycolysis and the citric acid cycle and moves those electrons along a series of proteins. The movement in electrons creates and electric current that allows the proteins to pump hydrogen ions across the membrane and into the intermembrane space. This in turn generates an electrochemical gradient which is then used by a membrane protein called ATP synthase to produce ATP molecules. This process is called oxidative phosphorylated because it uses oxygen as the final electron acceptor.
[{"id":"kI9rD9bO6wU","title":"Introduction to Oxidative Phosphorylation","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-oxidative-phosphorylation"},{"id":"COMD8yHJtLI","title":"Introduction to Electron Transport Chain","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-electron-transport-chain"},{"id":"ay9WIAkoa1Y","title":"Complex I and II of Electron Transport Chain","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/complex-i-and-ii-of-electron-transport-chain"},{"id":"rOv-X7VFbp0","title":"Q-Cycle and Complex III of Electron Transport Chain","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/q-cycle-and-complex-iii-of-electron-transport-chain"},{"id":"E0YGToDEKeE","title":"Complex IV of Electron Transport Chain","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/complex-iv-of-electron-transport-chain"},{"id":"zrwhSkeZceg","title":"Reactive Oxygen Species and ETC","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/reactive-oxygen-species-and-etc"},{"id":"kio0RTl2FSM","title":"Structure of ATP Synthase","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/structure-of-atp-synthase"},{"id":"IHCzJjm0b1M","title":"Mechanism of ATP Synthase","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/mechanism-of-atp-synthase"},{"id":"Q7TESAewi5c","title":"Proton Movement in ATP Synthase","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/proton-movement-in-atp-synthase"},{"id":"sglxi7I21-M","title":"Glycerol 3-Phosphate Shuttle","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/glycerol-3-phosphate-shuttle"},{"id":"nEj8b-sg4ps","title":"Malate-Aspartate Shuttle","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/malate-aspartate-shuttle"},{"id":"bWATYDuUnLE","title":"ATP-ADP Translocase","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/atp-adp-translocase"},{"id":"i0oYOcXsIBE","title":"ATP Yield of Aerobic Cell Respiration","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/atp-yield-of-aerobic-cell-respiration"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists