Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 26,216,002 | Subscribers: 198,748 | Subscribe
Introduction to Nucleic Acids
Nucleic acids are linear polymers that consist of monomers called nucleotides. Each nucleotide carries a sugar, a nitrogenous base and a phosphate group. There are two types of nucleic acids in a nature - deoxyribose nucleic acids (DNA) and ribonucleic acids (RNA). DNA contains the deoxyribose sugar and typically exists in a double-helix form. RNA molecules contain the ribose sugar and exist predominately as single-strand molecules. DNA functions to (1) store the genetic information and keep it readily accessible to the cell (2) pass down genetic information to offspring during reproduction. RNA on the other hand (1) transcribes the genetic information into a form that is easy to understand and read by the cell (2) assist in protein synthesis.
[{"id":"1Wc4jTH2v_w","title":"Introduction to Nucleic Acids","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-nucleic-acids"},{"id":"Ux1tAy1Jb_I","title":"Composition of Nucleic Acids","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/composition-of-nucleic-acids"},{"id":"GgQrEJaEH0U","title":"Nucleosides and Nucleotides","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/nucleosides-and-nucleotides"},{"id":"VLD9VLxN3PI","title":"Watson-Crick Model of DNA","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/watson-crick-model-of-dna"},{"id":"_GN4F-PaAWA","title":"Meselson and Stahl Experiment","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/meselson-and-stahl-experiment"},{"id":"OblPqlOOgew","title":"Melting and Annealing of DNA","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/melting-and-annealing-of-dna"},{"id":"g_pwHZZ0oSo","title":"Stem-Loop Structure of RNA","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/stem-loop-structure-of-rna"},{"id":"wvaBZSQzGVY","title":"DNA Polymerase and Catalysis of Phosphodiester Bond","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/dna-polymerase-and-catalysis-of-phosphodiester-bond"},{"id":"TEfHW21ZIoc","title":"Circular DNA, RNA Genes and Viruses","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/circular-dna-rna-genes-and-viruses"},{"id":"ruIIccU32nU","title":"Types of RNA","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/types-of-rna"},{"id":"1bAhZayllHc","title":"RNA Polymerase","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/rna-polymerase"},{"id":"a9ZMTVlrLY0","title":"Promoter and Termination Sites","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/promoter-and-termination-sites"},{"id":"0t5eVgtrdWg","title":"Central Dogma and Genetic Code","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/central-dogma-and-genetic-code"},{"id":"HxOGxj2jEfA","title":"Start and Stop Codons","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/start-and-stop-codons"},{"id":"B8gnuhvnfUs","title":"Exons and Introns of Eukaryotic mRNA","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/exons-and-introns-of-eukaryotic-mrna"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists