Lectures: 2,009 | Views: 38,199,216 | Subscribers: 287,239 | Subscribe
Introduction to Electrocardiogram
The human heart is able to generate an electrical signal and it uses this electrical signal to create the muscular contraction needed to pump all the blood through the organs and tissues of our body. Physicians can actually study and analyze the electrical signal that the heart produces. If they connect electrodes to the surface of the skin at particular points (around the heart, the arm and the legs) and then connect the wires of the electrodes to a special device (some sort of voltmeter), they can then create a graph called an electrocardiogram. An electrocardiogram is a graph of the voltage that the heart creates (the y-axis is the voltage while the x-axis is the time). The physician can then study this electrocardiogram to see whether or not there is some abnormality in the persons heart.
[{"id":"wiy23SyIK-g","title":"Introduction to Cardiovascular System","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-cardiovascular-system"},{"id":"c2B6C-W_tIg","title":"Composition of Blood","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/composition-of-blood"},{"id":"-zjUZjkNLsI","title":"Types of Blood Vessels","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/types-of-blood-vessels"},{"id":"PTYwFQq4loI","title":"Blood Pressure in Arteries, Veins and Capillaries","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/blood-pressure-in-arteries-veins-and-capillaries"},{"id":"uhYnKRH8Gho","title":"Compliance of Blood Vessels","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/compliance-of-blood-vessels"},{"id":"-QclTMSvm3U","title":"Resistance of Blood Vessels and Volume Flow Rate","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/resistance-of-blood-vessels-and-volume-flow-rate"},{"id":"KwbqTHEnJw0","title":"Structure of the Heart","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/structure-of-the-heart"},{"id":"vWUvsX1OvbQ","title":"Blood Flow in the Heart","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/blood-flow-in-the-heart"},{"id":"4o2nHfVMfC8","title":"Electrical Conduction in the Heart","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electrical-conduction-in-the-heart"},{"id":"O04d0hZ1ofo","title":"Introduction to Electrocardiogram","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-electrocardiogram"},{"id":"XqCi3dk18pI","title":"Major Arteries of Circulation System","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/major-arteries-of-circulation-system"},{"id":"2ukQlpNA6-s","title":"Osmosis, Osmotic Pressure and Hydrostatic Pressure","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/osmosis-osmotic-pressure-and-hydrostatic-pressure"},{"id":"bmQDAM-q2OM","title":"Exchange Across Capillaries","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/exchange-across-capillaries"},{"id":"DjmWmbzUogM","title":"Recycling of Red Blood Cells","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/recycling-of-red-blood-cells"},{"id":"SPSvc7-1dec","title":"Blood Clotting Cascade","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/blood-clotting-cascade"},{"id":"VJm1kaVQI9E","title":"Blood Clotting Cascade (Part II)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/blood-clotting-cascade-part-ii"},{"id":"zGlW29VuSkA","title":"Amplification of Blood Clotting","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/amplification-of-blood-clotting"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists