Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 26,216,002 | Subscribers: 198,748 | Subscribe
Introduction to Carbohydrates
Carbohydrates are a class of biological molecules that are used in nature in four major ways. Firstly, carbohydrates are broken down and used to produce ATP molecules, which are themselves used as the energy source for all the different processes that occur within our cells. Secondly, carbohydrates are constituents of nucleic acids such as DNA and RNA molecules. Thirdly, carbohydrates are used to modify proteins and lipids, which typically alter their properties and functionalities. Lastly, carbohydrates are constituents of cell walls found in bacterial cells and plant cells.
[{"id":"OBP8ltttH5U","title":"Introduction to Carbohydrates","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-carbohydrates"},{"id":"ECKrQu0Y2PI","title":"Aldoses, Ketoses, Fischer Projections and Epimers","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/aldoses-ketoses-fischer-projections-and-epimers"},{"id":"H7z1vNc1jos","title":"Cyclic Form of Carbohydrates","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/cyclic-form-of-carbohydrates"},{"id":"MaY1UOYRFMo","title":"Stability of Glucose Anomers","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/stability-of-glucose-anomers"},{"id":"qrvlx5zD4Vc","title":"Modification of Carbohydrates","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/modification-of-carbohydrates"},{"id":"Kj15mH5zB6Y","title":"Disaccharides (Maltose, Lactose and Sucrose)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/disaccharides-maltose-lactose-and-sucrose"},{"id":"e0ijBDroE48","title":"Polysaccharides (Glycogen, Starch and Cellulose)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/polysaccharides-glycogen-starch-and-cellulose"},{"id":"l3W60xr9ac4","title":"Glycosaminoglycans and Proteoglycans","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/glycosaminoglycans-and-proteoglycans"},{"id":"xHpQuV80xhs","title":"Glycosylation and Glycoproteins","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/glycosylation-and-glycoproteins"},{"id":"ti_fvQRfLys","title":"Functions of Glycoproteins and I-Cell Disease","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/functions-of-glycoproteins-and-i-cell-disease"},{"id":"YSVbO2sHlBE","title":"Glycosyltransferases and ABO Blood Groups","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/glycosyltransferases-and-abo-blood-groups"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists