Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 26,216,002 | Subscribers: 198,748 | Subscribe
Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle
In quantum mechanics, the Heisenberg uncertainty principle states that there will always be some amount of uncertainty involved in making measurements and that there is a limit to how precise any one given measurement can be. One form of the uncertainty principle relates the change in position of an object to its change in momentum. It states that the product of these two uncertainties can never be smaller than a certain constant. The Heisenberg uncertainty principle has absolutely nothing to do with the precision of the instrument being used; that is, even if we could somehow produce the most precise instrument, there would still be uncertainties involved in making the measurements. This is because the uncertainty principle is a result of the dual nature of matter. The ability of subatomic entities to act as waves as well as particles means that the position and momentum of any subatomic object can never be known with precision because the object is not exactly a solid sphere.
[{"id":"uB5ojwXi3ZQ","title":"Introduction to Quantum Mechanics","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-quantum-mechanics"},{"id":"j4mIJT71u6k","title":"Introduction to the Wave Function","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-the-wave-function"},{"id":"mF93mTLRL6Q","title":"Double-Slit Experiment with Electrons","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/double-slit-experiment-with-electrons"},{"id":"eWeDSApCcFw","title":"Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/heisenberg-uncertainty-principle"},{"id":"RJxdSk8X6dg","title":"Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle Example # 1","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/heisenberg-uncertainty-principle-example-1"},{"id":"qLSZ8x3-49E","title":"Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle Example # 2","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/heisenberg-uncertainty-principle-example-2"},{"id":"Eb3V8GrR7jk","title":"Uncertainty Principle with Time and Energy","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/uncertainty-principle-with-time-and-energy"},{"id":"MVFiYTgWgX0","title":"Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle Example # 3","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/heisenberg-uncertainty-principle-example-3"},{"id":"Mg8N7dHY9Og","title":"Statistical vs Deterministic Theory","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/statistical-vs-deterministic-theory"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists