Lectures: 2,009 | Views: 38,199,216 | Subscribers: 287,239 | Subscribe
Gene Transfection
Recombinant DNA molecules can also be inserted into eukaryotic cells for gene expression. There are three methods that are commonly used to insert foreign genes into eukaryotic cells such as mouse cells. The first method involves using a micropipette to inject a DNA molecule directly into the nucleus of the cell. The second method involves using retroviruses to inject the foreign DNA of interest into the eukaryotic cell. This method allows the virus to incorporate the recombinant DNA into the host cell's genome. A third method uses a solution of calcium phosphate to stimulate the cell to take up the DNA molecule. In either one of the three cases, the eukaryotic cell can be made to produce the protein of interest.
[{"id":"FlsD__uCRws","title":"Introduction to Biotechnology","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-biotechnology"},{"id":"GDIu_t_SUTY","title":"Restriction Enzymes and Palindromic Sequences","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/restriction-enzymes-and-palindromic-sequences"},{"id":"EoTq-Ql_Zzc","title":"Southern and Northern Blotting","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/southern-and-northern-blotting"},{"id":"IAf_6TZ6BYc","title":"Sanger Sequencing of DNA","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/sanger-sequencing-of-dna"},{"id":"Kw2-LKRzRMM","title":"Sanger Sequencing of DNA (Part II)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/sanger-sequencing-of-dna-part-ii"},{"id":"uHKiohWvY_0","title":"Amplifying DNA with Polymerase Chain Reaction","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/amplifying-dna-with-polymerase-chain-reaction"},{"id":"2YxTcBimxlw","title":"Plasmids and Recombinant DNA Technology","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/plasmids-and-recombinant-dna-technology"},{"id":"0Mw-0G2m6uE","title":"Lambda Phages as Vectors","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/lambda-phages-as-vectors"},{"id":"2ikPiR0-rnc","title":"Building and Screening Genomic Libraries","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/building-and-screening-genomic-libraries"},{"id":"EpQB06gRoLg","title":"Cassette Mutagenesis and Gene Deletions","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/cassette-mutagenesis-and-gene-deletions"},{"id":"cCUKopDvTks","title":"Site-Directed Mutagenesis","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/site-directed-mutagenesis"},{"id":"EU39PDzz9co","title":"Synthesizing cDNA with Reverse Transcriptase","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/synthesizing-cdna-with-reverse-transcriptase"},{"id":"oj_h06k9z0g","title":"Gene Transfection","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/gene-transfection"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists