Lectures: 2,009 | Views: 38,199,216 | Subscribers: 287,239 | Subscribe
Frost Circle Method Example
The Front circle is a method that can be used to determine the relative energies of the pi molecular orbitals of the molecule in question. This information can be used to determine whether or not our molecule is aromatic. Basically, if all the lower-in-energy pi bonding molecular orbitals are filled with electrons and none of the non-bonding or anti-bonding pi molecular orbitals contain electrons, then our molecule is in fact aromatic. However, if the molecule contains even one electron in the high energy non-bonding or anti-bonding molecular orbital, then the molecule is not aromatic. Let us take a look at three molecule and try to determine whether or not they are aromatic by using the Frost circle method.
[{"id":"iG8iFbmaIT4","title":"Structure of Benzene","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/structure-of-benzene"},{"id":"7V2gvIXuyso","title":"Molecular Orbitals of Benzene","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/molecular-orbitals-of-benzene"},{"id":"EDjMYB0ghLY","title":"Delocalization Energy of Benzene","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/delocalization-energy-of-benzene"},{"id":"U0BCFOgZYK8","title":"Aromaticity and Huckel's Rule","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/aromaticity-and-huckels-rule"},{"id":"2amCDXU_Fgk","title":"Aromatic Molecules Examples","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/aromatic-molecules-examples"},{"id":"m6LYfhDktYo","title":"Frost Circle Method","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/frost-circle-method"},{"id":"D4RhQPQxLgs","title":"Frost Circle Method Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/frost-circle-method-example"},{"id":"RttBuqO33lY","title":"Heteroaromatic Molecules (Pyridine, Pyrrole and Furan)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/heteroaromatic-molecules-pyridine-pyrrole-and-furan"},{"id":"zUXaiMpzUqc","title":"Base Reaction with Pyrrole","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/base-reaction-with-pyrrole"},{"id":"tfHmtVwbRng","title":"Basicity of Pyrrole and Pyridine","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/basicity-of-pyrrole-and-pyridine"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists