Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 15,975,459 | Subscribers: 126,362 | Subscribe
First Law of Thermodynamics
The First Law of Thermodynamics is a statement of the law of conservation of energy. Recall that a closed system is a system in which the mass remains constant but energy is allowed to flow into or out of the system. There are two types of ways in which energy can be exchanged with the surroundings - either by heat or by work. Therefore, the change in internal energy of any closed system is equal to the amount of energy that flows into or out of the system due to a difference in temperature (heat) plus the amount of energy that flows into or out of the system as a result of an applied force (work).
[{"id":"ZA1NRvSoid0","title":"First Law of Thermodynamics","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/first-law-of-thermodynamics"},{"id":"EFDQztAh4PU","title":"First Law of Thermodynamics Example # 1","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/first-law-of-thermodynamics-example-1"},{"id":"XiFbvUuukpQ","title":"First Law of Thermodynamics Example # 2","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/first-law-of-thermodynamics-example-2"},{"id":"pBr7YaiiMuc","title":"First Law of Thermodynamics Example # 3","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/first-law-of-thermodynamics-example-3"},{"id":"sp6_7yONwCE","title":"Isothermal Expansion of Gas","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/isothermal-expansion-of-gas"},{"id":"bvO-_hC3OGM","title":"Adiabatic, Isobaric and Isovolumetric Processes","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/adiabatic-isobaric-and-isovolumetric-processes"},{"id":"_1xBwSdbrD4","title":"Adiabatic Process Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/adiabatic-process-example"},{"id":"OH0u9J18VYk","title":"Work by Isothermal, Isovolumetric and Isobaric Processes","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/work-by-isothermal-isovolumetric-and-isobaric-processes"},{"id":"lyeaVXoePOk","title":"Isobaric and Isovolumetric Process Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/isobaric-and-isovolumetric-process-example"},{"id":"2QqgJWuL4A4","title":"Free Adiabtic Expansion","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/free-adiabtic-expansion"},{"id":"uTODwyMt5Pk","title":"Molar Specific Heat for Constant Volume and Constant Pressure","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/molar-specific-heat-for-constant-volume-and-constant-pressure"},{"id":"WvigkeJC7wg","title":"Principle of Equipartition of Energy","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/principle-of-equipartition-of-energy"},{"id":"apjPWnS7HPs","title":"Adiabatic Expasion with Derivation","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/adiabatic-expasion-with-derivation"},{"id":"dTuGnxkOjlQ","title":"Adiabatic Compression of Monatomic Ideal Gas Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/adiabatic-compression-of-monatomic-ideal-gas-example"},{"id":"VDpB7QiOgeI","title":"Adiabatic Expansion of Diatomic Ideal Gas Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/adiabatic-expansion-of-diatomic-ideal-gas-example"},{"id":"A_PC4OQZ19Y","title":"Thermal Conduction","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/thermal-conduction"},{"id":"ClsRsyvMn_w","title":"Thermal Convection","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/thermal-convection"},{"id":"93-_JhGNn1Y","title":"Thermal Radiation and Stefan-Boltzmann Equation","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/thermal-radiation-and-stefan-boltzmann-equation"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists