Lectures: 2,009 | Views: 38,199,216 | Subscribers: 287,239 | Subscribe
Fermi Energy Derivation
In our discussion on the Fermi energy of electrons in solid metals, we stated the equation without actually deriving it. Now we shall use the density of states equation to derive the Fermi energy level. Recall that the Fermi energy is the highest energy level that the electron can take inside a solid metal when the temperature is dropped to absolute zero. If we integrate the density of states, we can readily derive the Fermi energy.
[{"id":"UNjWABsXtC8","title":"Ionic Bonds in Crystalline Solids","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/ionic-bonds-in-crystalline-solids"},{"id":"h1u3UpfMwMI","title":"Metallic Bonds","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/metallic-bonds"},{"id":"6W690uFF4NI","title":"Density of States","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/density-of-states"},{"id":"xNucs-bzFtI","title":"Fermi Energy of Electrons","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/fermi-energy-of-electrons"},{"id":"gjsAyxqDtMM","title":"Fermi Energy Derivation","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/fermi-energy-derivation"},{"id":"HkL8-DfYviE","title":"Fermi Energy Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/fermi-energy-example"},{"id":"SZVez8My_x4","title":"Average Energy of Electron in Metal Solid","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/average-energy-of-electron-in-metal-solid"},{"id":"fdS12EaXH3A","title":"Fermi-Dirac Probability Function","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/fermi-dirac-probability-function"},{"id":"EyVdjZsw5pk","title":"Density of Occupied States","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/density-of-occupied-states"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists