Lectures: 2,009 | Views: 38,199,216 | Subscribers: 287,239 | Subscribe
Enzymes Stabilize Transition State
By binding substrates to their active sites, enzymes stabilize the structure of the transition state. This in turn lowers of the free energy of the transition state, which in turn decreases the rate of the chemical reaction. Enzymes do not however change the Gibbs free energy of the chemical reaction. That is, they do not change the free energy of the products nor reactants. This implies that even though the time it takes to reach equilibrium decreases in a catalyzed reaction, the concentrations of products and reactants does not actually change once equilibrium has been achieved. We conclude that enzymes decrease the rate of the reaction by lowering the Gibbs free energy of activation but they do not change the actual equilibrium of the reaction.
[{"id":"Gy3fEdy9cCA","title":"Properties of Enzymes","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/properties-of-enzymes"},{"id":"tPCOEUo6J8s","title":"Enzymes' Effect on Activation Energy and Free Energy","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/enzymes-effect-on-activation-energy-and-free-energy"},{"id":"u_IQu7h6xfo","title":"Gibbs Free Energy and Spontaneity","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/gibbs-free-energy-and-spontaneity"},{"id":"NEQ9WS8w-2I","title":"Enzymes Stabilize Transition State","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/enzymes-stabilize-transition-state"},{"id":"xzeg7ult6pM","title":"Properties of Active Sites, Lock-and-Key Model and Induced-Fit Model","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/properties-of-active-sites-lock-and-key-model-and-induced-fit-model"},{"id":"htZgbALo8uE","title":"Effect of Enzymes on Rate Law and Rate Constant","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/effect-of-enzymes-on-rate-law-and-rate-constant"},{"id":"yD6CTA-tT6A","title":"Effect of Enzymes on Rate Law and Rate Constant (Part II)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/effect-of-enzymes-on-rate-law-and-rate-constant-part-ii"},{"id":"NVDxNal06zM","title":"Derivation of Michaelis-Menten Equation","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/derivation-of-michaelis-menten-equation"},{"id":"OOzj_dFzPH4","title":"Derivation of Michaelis Menten-Equation (Part II)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/derivation-of-michaelis-menten-equation-part-ii"},{"id":"ALwziZSRiqM","title":"Michaelis-Menten Equation","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/michaelis-menten-equation"},{"id":"ZU2EAZQ6Mok","title":"Michaelis Constant","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/michaelis-constant"},{"id":"KM2Kq9L_V4M","title":"Maximal Velocity and Turnover Number of Enzymes","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/maximal-velocity-and-turnover-number-of-enzymes"},{"id":"EUunw7voY-o","title":"Catalytic Efficiency of Enzymes (kcat\/Km)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/catalytic-efficiency-of-enzymes-kcat-km"},{"id":"5dhAuaZMCUg","title":"Catalytic Efficiency of Enzymes (kcat\/Km) - Part II","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/catalytic-efficiency-of-enzymes-kcat-km-part-ii"},{"id":"pWURzs8GiB4","title":"Sequential and Ping-Pong Reactions","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/sequential-and-ping-pong-reactions"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists