Lectures: 2,009 | Views: 49,626,878 | Subscribers: 380,859 | Subscribe
Entropy and Third Law of Thermodynamics
Entropy can be described mathematically by taking the change in energy of the system and dividing it by the absolute temperature (temperature given in Kelvins). The third law of thermodynamics states that the temperature of a system can never reach absolute zero because this would imply that the denominator of the ratio would go to zero.
[{"id":"P8Cmetebb3s","title":"First Law of Thermodynamics (Part I)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/first-law-of-thermodynamics-part-i"},{"id":"EHJojjh5olE","title":"Second Law of Thermodynamics (Part II)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/second-law-of-thermodynamics-part-ii"},{"id":"7Kg2EN4CsvA","title":"Internal Energy of Matter","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/internal-energy-of-matter"},{"id":"9oJ3zBosgHI","title":"Definition of Temperature","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/definition-of-temperature"},{"id":"-5q7rjcNW00","title":"Enthalpy, Heat of Reaction and Hess's Law","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/enthalpy-heat-of-reaction-and-hesss-law"},{"id":"Ag06x_0dhjw","title":"Introduction to Entropy","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-entropy"},{"id":"bO98yJcPsEk","title":"Entropy and Third Law of Thermodynamics","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/entropy-and-third-law-of-thermodynamics"},{"id":"RoeLigz5vpo","title":"Introduction to Gibbs Free Energy","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-gibbs-free-energy"},{"id":"DY07GOe-4z8","title":"Gibbs Free Energy Derivation","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/gibbs-free-energy-derivation"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists