Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 15,975,459 | Subscribers: 126,362 | Subscribe
Endoplasmic Reticulum and Golgi Apparatus
The endoplasmic reticulum is subdivided into two parts - the rough and smooth endoplasmic reticulum. The rough endoplasmic reticulum is embedded with ribosomes. As a result, the function of the rough endoplasmic reticulum is to synthesis proteins that are either secreted by the cell or end up in the cell membrane. The smooth endoplasmic reticulum does not contain any ribosomes and some of its functions include glucose production, lipid synthesis (fatty acids, phospholipids, cholesterol and other steroids) and toxin and drug detoxification. The Golgi apparatus is the protein organizing and packing center of the cell. It organizes, modifies (glycosylation, phosphorylation, etc) and ships out the proteins to their respective destination. It also is responsible for creating polysaccharides and lysosomes.
[{"id":"QV3mOU84QNc","title":"Cell Nucleus","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/cell-nucleus"},{"id":"5ArOofhOAwI","title":"Cell Membrane and Fluid Mosaic Model","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/cell-membrane-and-fluid-mosaic-model"},{"id":"M66B7D5WwXk","title":"Electrochemical Gradient","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electrochemical-gradient"},{"id":"hpECyJbtQ38","title":"Cell Membrane Transport","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/cell-membrane-transport"},{"id":"9tOGgB_mJPg","title":"Pinocytosis, Phagocytosis and Receptor-Mediated Endocytosis","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/pinocytosis-phagocytosis-and-receptor-mediated-endocytosis"},{"id":"kHLspuHXvK8","title":"Microfilaments, Intermediate Filaments and Microtubules","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/microfilaments-intermediate-filaments-and-microtubules"},{"id":"TE_n2p6dpUo","title":"Centrosome and Centrioles","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/centrosome-and-centrioles"},{"id":"3vBnZKRmikU","title":"Endoplasmic Reticulum and Golgi Apparatus","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/endoplasmic-reticulum-and-golgi-apparatus"},{"id":"rPKywyTvua4","title":"Mitochondria","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/mitochondria"},{"id":"wyl9AHk_SWU","title":"Vacuoles, Lysosomes and Microbodies","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/vacuoles-lysosomes-and-microbodies"},{"id":"wGQabqD3HlI","title":"Tight Junctions, Gap Junctions and Desmosomes","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/tight-junctions-gap-junctions-and-desmosomes"},{"id":"Eev9Ui_8YPI","title":"Tissue Types and Extracellular Matrix","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/tissue-types-and-extracellular-matrix"},{"id":"8porJA2wrFU","title":"Prokaryotic vs Eukaryotic Flagella","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/prokaryotic-vs-eukaryotic-flagella"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists