Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 15,975,459 | Subscribers: 126,362 | Subscribe
Electrochemical Gradient
One of the key functions of the cell membrane is to set up an electrochemical gradient between the outside and inside portions of the cell. But what exactly is the electrochemical gradient? The electrochemical gradient actually consists of two different individual gradients - the concentration gradient and the electric gradient. The concentration gradient dictates that a given substance will move from a higher chemical concentration to a lower chemical concentration, down its concentration gradient. Likewise, a positively charged molecule will move from an area where there is a higher net positive charge to an area where there is a lower net positive charge (and vice versa for negative charge). Together these two types of gradients make up the electrochemical gradient.
[{"id":"QV3mOU84QNc","title":"Cell Nucleus","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/cell-nucleus"},{"id":"5ArOofhOAwI","title":"Cell Membrane and Fluid Mosaic Model","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/cell-membrane-and-fluid-mosaic-model"},{"id":"M66B7D5WwXk","title":"Electrochemical Gradient","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electrochemical-gradient"},{"id":"hpECyJbtQ38","title":"Cell Membrane Transport","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/cell-membrane-transport"},{"id":"9tOGgB_mJPg","title":"Pinocytosis, Phagocytosis and Receptor-Mediated Endocytosis","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/pinocytosis-phagocytosis-and-receptor-mediated-endocytosis"},{"id":"kHLspuHXvK8","title":"Microfilaments, Intermediate Filaments and Microtubules","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/microfilaments-intermediate-filaments-and-microtubules"},{"id":"TE_n2p6dpUo","title":"Centrosome and Centrioles","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/centrosome-and-centrioles"},{"id":"3vBnZKRmikU","title":"Endoplasmic Reticulum and Golgi Apparatus","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/endoplasmic-reticulum-and-golgi-apparatus"},{"id":"rPKywyTvua4","title":"Mitochondria","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/mitochondria"},{"id":"wyl9AHk_SWU","title":"Vacuoles, Lysosomes and Microbodies","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/vacuoles-lysosomes-and-microbodies"},{"id":"wGQabqD3HlI","title":"Tight Junctions, Gap Junctions and Desmosomes","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/tight-junctions-gap-junctions-and-desmosomes"},{"id":"Eev9Ui_8YPI","title":"Tissue Types and Extracellular Matrix","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/tissue-types-and-extracellular-matrix"},{"id":"8porJA2wrFU","title":"Prokaryotic vs Eukaryotic Flagella","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/prokaryotic-vs-eukaryotic-flagella"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists