Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 38,199,216 | Subscribers: 287,239 | Subscribe
Electric Potential Difference
An electric potential difference, also known as the voltage difference, is defined as the change in the electric potential energy of an electric charge per unit charge as it moves from one point to another point. Electric potential difference is given in volts and is denoted using an uppercase V. Since it does not really make sense to discuss absolute electric potential (unless we define the electric potential to be zero an infinite distance away from an electric charge), only the change in electric potential (electric potential difference) is a measurable quantity. If the electric field is assumed to be constant within a certain region, we can define the voltage difference as the product of the electric field and the distance separating the two points. This usually works when our electric charge moves between two parallel plates in which the electric field is uniform.
[{"id":"hmCIQ6zcpHY","title":"Electric Potential Energy","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-potential-energy"},{"id":"uZwUhQ0MoVM","title":"Electric Potential Energy Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-potential-energy-example"},{"id":"rRYY3wpBmB8","title":"Electric Potential Difference","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-potential-difference"},{"id":"RA5-7RNpPhY","title":"Electric Potential Difference Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-potential-difference-example"},{"id":"LGozCALlDGY","title":"Electric Field and Electric Potential","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-field-and-electric-potential"},{"id":"MpleVAxPAUM","title":"Electric Potential due to Conducting Solid Sphere","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-potential-due-to-conducting-solid-sphere"},{"id":"pn64wv1Il9M","title":"Electric Potential due to Point Charge","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-potential-due-to-point-charge"},{"id":"JMLazwIbfGE","title":"Electric Potential Example # 1","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-potential-example-1"},{"id":"aVFtcrqzJLY","title":"Electric Potential Example # 2","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-potential-example-2"},{"id":"GQfwNjXLTrw","title":"Electric Potential Example # 3","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-potential-example-3"},{"id":"e6qqQLe08F0","title":"Electric Potential due to Ring of Charge","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-potential-due-to-ring-of-charge"},{"id":"Ahae5cqpmTg","title":"Electric Potentual due to Disc of Charge","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-potentual-due-to-disc-of-charge"},{"id":"_yg8kRVyfM0","title":"Equipotential Lines","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/equipotential-lines"},{"id":"H2o1NKer08Y","title":"Equipotential Lines Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/equipotential-lines-example"},{"id":"72RyKFXiJ6M","title":"Electric Potential due to Electric Dipoles","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-potential-due-to-electric-dipoles"},{"id":"RNSE3doT4i0","title":"Electric Field due to Voltage","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-field-due-to-voltage"},{"id":"iO42ZcnYIWg","title":"Electric Field due to Voltage Example # 1","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-field-due-to-voltage-example-1"},{"id":"dWlc6mGW2Xw","title":"Electric Field due to Voltage Example # 2","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electric-field-due-to-voltage-example-2"},{"id":"zVeu8VIfCSc","title":"Electron Volts","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electron-volts"},{"id":"Hd3gF63Toas","title":"Electrostatic Potential Energy","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/electrostatic-potential-energy"},{"id":"i6LNFxMvbTo","title":"Energy to Disassemble a Hydrogen Atom","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/energy-to-disassemble-a-hydrogen-atom"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists