Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 26,216,002 | Subscribers: 198,748 | Subscribe
Chloride Shift in Red Blood Cells
The chloride shift is an exchange of ions that takes place in our red blood cells in order to ensure that no build up of electric change takes place during gas exchange. Within our tissues, the cells produce a bunch of carbon dioxide molecules that are ultimately expelled by the cell and travel to the blood plasma. Once inside the blood plasma, the majority of carbon dioxide moves into the red blood cells, where they are converted into bicarbonate ions with the help from carbonic anhydrase. Unlike carbon dioxide, bicarbonate is very soluble in the blood plasma and therefore must return there by moving out of the red blood cell. However, as it moves across a special ion-exchange membrane protein, a chloride ion is brought into the cell (in a one-to-one ratio). This is known as the chloride shift and it takes place in order to maintain electric neutrality so that there is no build up of charge. The same thing happens in our lungs just the process is reversed (i.e bicarbonate ions are brought into the red blood cell while the chloride ions are moved out of the cell).
[{"id":"CGVOWh20ufA","title":"Introduction to Human Respiratory System","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-human-respiratory-system"},{"id":"ke48zGU9fQw","title":"Respiration in the Lungs","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/respiration-in-the-lungs"},{"id":"L_VDawZa9EI","title":"Protective Capabilities of Lungs","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/protective-capabilities-of-lungs"},{"id":"JSZH0rcR9cg","title":"Alveolar Structure and Gas Exchange","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/alveolar-structure-and-gas-exchange"},{"id":"dmjXQ05cSXw","title":"Surfactant in Alveoli and Surface Tension","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/surfactant-in-alveoli-and-surface-tension"},{"id":"XcupwWwfsz8","title":"Hemoglobin, Cooperativity and Oxygen Dissociation Curve","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/hemoglobin-cooperativity-and-oxygen-dissociation-curve"},{"id":"K_bkjbtzdAw","title":"Hemoglobin and Bohr Effect","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/hemoglobin-and-bohr-effect"},{"id":"sd0rkzgOFC0","title":"Effect of Temperature on Hemoglobin Dissociation Curve","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/effect-of-temperature-on-hemoglobin-dissociation-curve"},{"id":"vYyIdE_BlQc","title":"2,3 BPG and Hemoglobin","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/2-3-bpg-and-hemoglobin"},{"id":"Lsq-zyrzXxE","title":"Carbon Monoxide and Hemoglobin","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/carbon-monoxide-and-hemoglobin"},{"id":"3J3uaVPWmOY","title":"Chloride Shift in Red Blood Cells","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/chloride-shift-in-red-blood-cells"},{"id":"B8XmUpjCtik","title":"Myoglobin Dissociation Curve","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/myoglobin-dissociation-curve"},{"id":"mrETSLgRYeE","title":"Factors that Affect Hemoglobin Dissociation Curve","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/factors-that-affect-hemoglobin-dissociation-curve"},{"id":"chMedJwp4wo","title":"Lung Capacity and Volume","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/lung-capacity-and-volume"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists