Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 26,216,002 | Subscribers: 198,748 | Subscribe
Centripetal Acceleration of the Moon Example
In order to determine the centripetal acceleration of the moon as it orbits around the Earth, we must determine the frequency of the orbit. We can then use the frequency to calculate the magnitude of velocity. In order to calculate the radial acceleration, we take the square of the velocity and divide it by the radius. Note that the direction of radial acceleration points toward the center of the pathway circumscribed by the moon.
[{"id":"7aD7U8dELEc","title":"Centripetal Acceleration","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/centripetal-acceleration"},{"id":"H1EeanQ-pUs","title":"Frequency, Period and Velocity","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/frequency-period-and-velocity"},{"id":"G-uxAqug4J8","title":"Centripetal Acceleration of Revolving Object Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/centripetal-acceleration-of-revolving-object-example"},{"id":"wgaWh7v1ZZU","title":"Centripetal Acceleration of the Moon Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/centripetal-acceleration-of-the-moon-example"},{"id":"LhCJFxVTBks","title":"Centrifugation","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/centrifugation"},{"id":"a0nrgHtbEio","title":"Centripetal and Centrifugal Force","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/centripetal-and-centrifugal-force"},{"id":"gOMXwqHqL4o","title":"Vertical Circular Motion","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/vertical-circular-motion"},{"id":"GBQ8zbQZaFw","title":"Normal Force on Ferris Wheel","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/normal-force-on-ferris-wheel"},{"id":"OLoKqPnP-28","title":"Conical Pendulum","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/conical-pendulum"},{"id":"52yehBzu1RM","title":"Unbanked Curves","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/unbanked-curves"},{"id":"u4gVJnhe2dM","title":"Banked Curves","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/banked-curves"},{"id":"gMKrznHbbms","title":"Tangential Acceleration and Nonuniform Circular Motion","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/tangential-acceleration-and-nonuniform-circular-motion"},{"id":"nn_sKXUFnkY","title":"Drag Force and Terminal Velocity","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/drag-force-and-terminal-velocity"},{"id":"WUC_gob2ySE","title":"Drag Force and Velocity Equation Derivation","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/drag-force-and-velocity-equation-derivation"},{"id":"HzG-sdvDU4c","title":"Uniform Circular Motion Example # 1","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/uniform-circular-motion-example-1"},{"id":"DHL7SkgB8Xs","title":"Uniform Circular Motion Example # 2","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/uniform-circular-motion-example-2"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists