Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 38,199,216 | Subscribers: 287,239 | Subscribe
Cancer and Termination of Signal Pathways
The inability of our cells to regulate and terminate signal transduction pathways can lead to tumor growth and cancer. Recall that cells terminate signal transduction pathways by (1) using the GTPase activity of G-proteins (2) using phosphates to reverse the effects of protein kinases and (3) inactivating the receptor of the pathway. Abnormalities in either one of these three modes of termination can lead to the formation of cancer cells.
[{"id":"veserg9SrtU","title":"Introduction to Membrane Transport","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/introduction-to-membrane-transport"},{"id":"hnGsBEZ_PeI","title":"Measuring the Electrochemical Gradient","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/measuring-the-electrochemical-gradient"},{"id":"M5pW6oex-qA","title":"Measuring the Electrochemical Gradient (Part II)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/measuring-the-electrochemical-gradient-part-ii"},{"id":"eJtowEuMjfQ","title":"P-Type ATPases","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/p-type-atpases"},{"id":"AYGnZHzXsLs","title":"ABC Transporters","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/abc-transporters"},{"id":"JzmH5o0L3tw","title":"Secondary Transporters","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/secondary-transporters"},{"id":"HG2Syp6O9EM","title":"Membrane Channels","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/membrane-channels"},{"id":"2FMxQsJfCZY","title":"Ion Specificy and Structure of Ion Channels","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/ion-specificy-and-structure-of-ion-channels"},{"id":"UCyZSGk91DU","title":"High Rates of Ion Channels","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/high-rates-of-ion-channels"},{"id":"P6yrqkLbmq8","title":"Voltage-Gated Ion Channels","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/voltage-gated-ion-channels"},{"id":"XHT9QxEINSo","title":"Ligand-Gated Ion Channels","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/ligand-gated-ion-channels"},{"id":"EqjGJ-Zn7Ic","title":"Resting Membrane Potential","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/resting-membrane-potential"},{"id":"APKc8A-Ak4s","title":"Generation of Action Potential","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/generation-of-action-potential"},{"id":"attLYnvWH9M","title":"Gap Junctions","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/gap-junctions"},{"id":"DFu86zguTZA","title":"Aquaporins","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/aquaporins"},{"id":"zA7rl1exdRI","title":"Cancer and Termination of Signal Pathways","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/cancer-and-termination-of-signal-pathways"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists