Lectures: 2,011 | Views: 49,626,878 | Subscribers: 380,859 | Subscribe
Calculating Mass of Neutrino Using Supernova
The supernova that occurred in 1987 was a great opportunity for physicists to approximate the mass of the neutrino particle and this is exactly what we shall do in this lecture. Assume that when the supernova takes place, two neutrinos are released at the same time and travel the same distance (170,000 light years) to Earth. One of the particles, lets call this particle one, arrives to Earth and its kinetic energy is measured to be 20 MeV and the second particle, which arrives 10 seconds later, has a kinetic energy of 10 MeV. Using this information, we would like to determine the approximate rest-mass energy of the neutrino particle.
[{"id":"E6A9bTuBcz0","title":"Feynman Diagram","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/feynman-diagram"},{"id":"34VVmq5HibE","title":"Calculating the Mass of Meson Particle","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/calculating-the-mass-of-meson-particle"},{"id":"EXeRMvZVpK8","title":"Antiparticles and Antimatter","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/antiparticles-and-antimatter"},{"id":"fWcMwZiaQtQ","title":"Laws of Conservation in Particle Physics","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/laws-of-conservation-in-particle-physics"},{"id":"ig72OMIaGB0","title":"Conservation of Baryan Number Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/conservation-of-baryan-number-example"},{"id":"jc1KAalc_hE","title":"Conservation of Lepton Number Examples","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/conservation-of-lepton-number-examples"},{"id":"0DoGL9Z2e90","title":"Neutrino","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/neutrino"},{"id":"ucJzhluMj_U","title":"Calculating Mass of Neutrino Using Supernova","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/calculating-mass-of-neutrino-using-supernova"},{"id":"s7yFfbSmUqY","title":"Fundamental Particles and Hadrons","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/fundamental-particles-and-hadrons"},{"id":"GkM3-IWYGVI","title":"Baryan and Lepton Number Examples","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/baryan-and-lepton-number-examples"},{"id":"usc0YGmEmYc","title":"Particle Resonance","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/particle-resonance"},{"id":"wHpKnZzZwrM","title":"Strange Particles and Strangeness","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/strange-particles-and-strangeness"},{"id":"un6ddMGxilg","title":"Conservation of Strangeness Example","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/conservation-of-strangeness-example"},{"id":"LF0QkizidNo","title":"Distance for Weak Nuclear Interactions","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/distance-for-weak-nuclear-interactions"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists