Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 38,199,216 | Subscribers: 287,239 | Subscribe
Anterior Pituitary Gland
The pituitary gland is one of the many glands of the endocrine system and it contains two divisions - the anterior pituitary and posterior pituitary division. The hypothalamus found in the forebrain is responsible for controlling and stimulating the anterior pituitary gland. The hypothalamus is connected to the anterior pituitary through a network of blood vessels called the hypophyseal portal system. The hypothalamus releases its own set of hormones that travel down the hypophyseal portal system and to the anterior pituitary gland, where they stimulate the release of six different hormones. The six different hormones of the anterior pituitary gland are human growth hormone (HGH), adrenocorticotropic hormone (ACTH), thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH), prolactin, follicle stimulating hormone (FSH) and luteinizing hormone. All these hormones are peptides, which means they are water-soluble and can travel in the blood without a carrier protein. It also means that they bond onto target cells at receptors found on the membrane.
[{"id":"pilwS8vbqGk","title":"Anterior Pituitary Gland","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/anterior-pituitary-gland"},{"id":"oQwE6WJQMeM","title":"Posterior Pituitary Gland","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/posterior-pituitary-gland"},{"id":"IA09d-zN-2Y","title":"Thyroid Gland","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/thyroid-gland"},{"id":"MycQU9qw5yI","title":"Parathyroid Gland","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/parathyroid-gland"},{"id":"9o2dqeajWsI","title":"Adrenal Gland","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/adrenal-gland"},{"id":"O0Qz62nbDvA","title":"Islets of Langerhans (Pancreas)","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/islets-of-langerhans-pancreas"},{"id":"vZpFsOvIe_U","title":"Thymus","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/thymus"},{"id":"NMWaKdO76NQ","title":"Renin-Angiotensin-Aldosterone System","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/renin-angiotensin-aldosterone-system"},{"id":"BE-CfPkONmo","title":"Endocrine Ability of Heart, Kidney, Liver and Skin","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/endocrine-ability-of-heart-kidney-liver-and-skin"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists