Lectures: 2,005 | Views: 38,199,216 | Subscribers: 287,239 | Subscribe
Activation Energy of NaCl Formation
The bond between the two atoms in the sodium chloride molecule is an ionic bond. During bond formation, when the two neutral atoms are brought close to one another, the chloride atom must do a certain amount of work to actually pull the outer electron off of the neutral sodium atom. This means that a certain amount of energy must be inputted into the chemical reaction for the bond to actually form. This energy required to overcome the repulsive forces between the outermost electron of sodium and the nucleus of the sodium atom corresponds to the activation energy for this particular chemical reaction.
[{"id":"IGjVTneI3eE","title":"Covalent Bonds","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/covalent-bonds"},{"id":"OuG6ZLzbeS4","title":"Ionic Bonds","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/ionic-bonds"},{"id":"BK_ObjxIaYU","title":"Polar Covalent Bonds","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/polar-covalent-bonds"},{"id":"X9pUOqbNFZY","title":"Bond Potential Energy Diagram and Bond Dissociation Energy","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/bond-potential-energy-diagram-and-bond-dissociation-energy"},{"id":"UrcG5bMAQZY","title":"Activation Energy","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/activation-energy"},{"id":"np7GcXTYKlI","title":"Activation Energy of NaCl Formation","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/activation-energy-of-nacl-formation"},{"id":"bvrxZDmBx6A","title":"Binding Energy of Sodium Chloride","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/binding-energy-of-sodium-chloride"},{"id":"Yw9p0Sa4A4k","title":"Energy Storage in Chemical Bonds","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/energy-storage-in-chemical-bonds"},{"id":"kax6iI-IqKM","title":"Dipole-Dipole, Dipole-Induced Dipole, London-Dispersion and Hydrogen Bonds","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/dipole-dipole-dipole-induced-dipole-london-dispersion-and-hydrogen-bonds"},{"id":"ns1SER5jSR0","title":"van der Waals Forces in DNA Molecules","link":"http:\/\/www.aklectures.com\/lecture\/van-der-waals-forces-in-dna-molecules"}]
Comments
Playlists
Login to create and share playlists